The people have spoken, and Twitter has relented: The controversial “For You” timeline is no longer default on any platform.
In January, Twitter started showing the algorithmic, “For You” timeline as default on the web and on mobile. Users still had the option to switch to the “Following” timeline, which displays a chronological list of tweets from the accounts you follow, but if you closed the Twitter app and reopened it again, “For You” would show as default once again.
Many users (including us) did not appreciate(Opens in a new tab) this very much, and Twitter recently relented by defaulting to whichever timeline you chose last, but only on the web(Opens in a new tab). Now, the company has updated its iOS and Android apps with the same functionality.
Tweet may have been deleted
(opens in a new tab)
(Opens in a new tab)
When you start the Twitter app on iOS or Android, you will now see whichever timeline view you chose last. To see the change, you’ll have to update to the latest version of the Twitter app on iOS and Android.
It still doesn’t work perfectly, though. If you have a list (which is displayed as another timeline view, next to “For You” and “Following”), and you close the Twitter app and re-open it again, boom: you’ll always be back in the dreaded “For You” algorithmic timeline. Perhaps an option in the settings to permanently switch to the desired timeline view would be a better way to do this, Twitter.